Thank God It's Doomsday

Bart and Lisa want to start getting their hair cut at the mall. They go to the mall with Homer and while getting their haircut they get into a fight, which results in them each getting really bad haircuts. Out in the mall they are spotted by fellow school students who have cameras in hand. They find Homer and go on the run; they sneak into the back entrance of a movie theater and see the film "Left Below," which is a movie about the apocalypse. The images in the movie are disturbing to Homer, who fears the worst. Marge assures him that there needs to be some ominous signs before the rapture will come. When Homer is out driving, he sees what he believes to be the signs. Homer gathers some books on the subject and he calculates that the "rapture is nigh" at 3:15 PM on May 18th, seven days from now. He starts to spread the word and tells everyone on television a passage from Revelations 6:13 that says before the rapture "the stars will fall to Earth." At the Springfield Stadium, there is a celebrity filled blimp accident that causes the stars on board to fall to the Earth and Homer gains instant credibility. He gets a bus full of people to join him at Springfield Mesa. When the appointed time comes and goes, Homer loses credibility and everyone return back to their normal lives. Homer later realizes that he made a mistake in his calculation and the new time is only 30 minutes away. When no one in his family will join him Homer goes to the Mesa on his own. The rapture comes and Homer goes to heaven, but despite all that heaven has to offer, Homer needs his family. He gets an audience with God, but when God won't grant his request to have his family join him; Homer begins raising hell in heaven. To put a stop to it, God agrees to turn back time and put off the rapture.

  • Matt Groening

Release Date: 1989-12-17
Seasons: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 99 1002 1003 1004 1005
Metacritic: 8.8/10
TMDb: 7.5/10
  • Country: US
  • Language: En
  • Runtime: 22

Other episodes for this season

Treehouse of Horror XV
Episode 1 - Treehouse of Horror XV
All's Fair in Oven War
Episode 2 - All's Fair in Oven War
Sleeping with the Enemy
Episode 3 - Sleeping with the Enemy
She Used to Be My Girl
Episode 4 - She Used to Be My Girl
Fat Man and Little Boy
Episode 5 - Fat Man and Little Boy
Midnight Rx
Episode 6 - Midnight Rx
Mommie Beerest
Episode 7 - Mommie Beerest
Homer and Ned's Hail Mary Pass
Episode 8 - Homer and Ned's Hail Mary...
Pranksta Rap
Episode 9 - Pranksta Rap
There's Something About Marrying
Episode 10 - There's Something About M...
On a Clear Day I Can't See My Sister
Episode 11 - On a Clear Day I Can't Se...
Goo Goo Gai Pan
Episode 12 - Goo Goo Gai Pan
Mobile Homer
Episode 13 - Mobile Homer
The Seven-Beer Snitch
Episode 14 - The Seven-Beer Snitch
Episode 15 - Future-Drama
Don't Fear the Roofer
Episode 16 - Don't Fear the Roofer
The Heartbroke Kid
Episode 17 - The Heartbroke Kid
A Star Is Torn
Episode 18 - A Star Is Torn
Thank God It's Doomsday
Episode 19 - Thank God It's Doomsday
Home Away from Homer
Episode 20 - Home Away from Homer
The Father, the Son, and the Holy Guest Star
Episode 21 - The Father, the Son, and...